lorem ipsum dolor sit
lorem ipsum dolor sit
lorem ipsum dolor sit


TruckCare is an independently-audited quality assurance program for the Australian Livestock Transport Industry. The program is built around the quality assurance principles contained in international standards and Australian laws. It addresses animal welfare, food safety, OH&S and biosecurity risks.

In WA, operators of certain types of heavy vehicles must become accredited to gain a permit or order from Main Roads.
Western Australian Heavy Vehicle Accreditation is mandatory for individuals and organisations that require a permit or order to perform any transport task as part of a commercial business or for profit within Western Australia, including interstate operators.

SARTA provides a high level of professional services to its members and represents the industry generally when lobbying the Government for improved conditions on and off the road on issues ranging from driving hours reforms, to routes and access issues. SARTA also plays a key role in Industrial Relations at the State and National levels, fighting hard to ensure that wages and conditions are kept at reasonable levels and are not blown our by Union demands.

The LRTA SA is proud of its reputation for being a progressive association that works hard to keep abreast of all relevant issues including:

  • Ensuring there are adequate loading facilities, amenities and truck wash facilities
  • Solutions to reduce waiting/queuing times
  • Improving or requesting designated, adequate truck parks
  • Working with NHVR towards a AFM (Advanced Fatigue Management) Solution
  • Animal Welfare
  • Registration and fuel charges


The National Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Scheme (NHVAS) was first offered to industry in 1999 as an alternative compliance scheme. It has since evolved as a formal process for recognising operators who have robust safety and other management systems in place. It is also increasingly being used to show compliance with general duty requirements under road transport law.

Heavy vehicle operators can apply for accreditation under the following NHVAS modules:

  • Mass Management
  • Maintenance Management.
  • Fatigue Management: Basic Fatigue Management (BFM)
  • Fatigue Management: Advanced Fatigue Management (AFM)